The Schools (Part-Time 20mph Speed Limit) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021 No. 34

Date published: 12 February 2021


The Department for Infrastructure (DfI) has made a Statutory Rule entitled “The Schools (Part-Time 20mph Speed Limit) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021” (S.R. 2021 No. 34) which comes into operation on 4 March 2021.


The Rule will apply a part-time speed limit of 20 miles per hour to certain roads in Ahoghill, Annaghmore, Annahilt, Armagh, Artigarvan, Aughnacloy, Ballyclare, Ballymena, Ballymoney, Ballyronan, Banbridge, Belfast, Bellanaleck, Bessbrook, Bushmills, Carrickfergus, Castlereagh, Castlewellan, Cookstown, Crossgar, Crumlin, Cullybackey, Derrylin, Downpatrick, Draperstown, Drumaness, Drumsurn, Dungannon, Dungiven, Dunsford, Feeny, Florencecourt, Garvagh, Glengormley, Gulladuff, Hillsborough, Islandmagee, Kilkeel, Killyleagh, Kilrea, Larne, Legacurry, Legamaddy, Lenaderg, Lisburn, Londonderry, Maghaberry, Maguiresbridge, Mallusk, Moira, Newcastle, Newtownards, Omagh, Portadown, Portaferry, Portrush, Randalstown, Strabane, Tandragee, Toome, and Upperlands.

The effect of the Rule is that the current speed limit applicable to the certain roads shall be reduced to 20 miles per hour when a 20 miles per hour limit is indicated by means of a variable message traffic sign.

The Rule will also extend the length of the existing part-time 20 miles per hour speed limit on a certain road in Londonderry         

During the current Covid-19 restrictions, a copy of the Rule may be viewed at DfI offices during office hours (Monday to Friday 9.00 am to 5.00 pm) by appointment only.

Appointments can be arranged either by email to or by telephone on 0300 200 7899.

The Rule may also be viewed online at:

Back to top