The Roads (Speed Limit) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021 No. 195

Date published: 30 June 2021

Last updated: 30 June 2021


The Department for Infrastructure has made a Statutory Rule entitled “The Roads (Speed Limit) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021”, (S.R. 2021 No. 195), which comes into operation on 26 July 2021.


The rule will apply 30, 40 and 50 miles per hour speed limits to certain roads in Antrim, Ardboe, Castledawson, Castlewellan, Derriaghy, Downpatrick, Dungiven, Dunmurry, Islandmagee, Moira, Newtownabbey, Saintfield and Toome. The length of road at Dungiven has been de-restricted and is now subject to a speed limit of 40 miles per hour.

During the current Covid-19 restrictions, a copy of the Rule may be viewed at DfI offices during office hours (Monday to Friday 9.00 am to 5.00 pm) by appointment only. Appointments can be arranged either by email using or by telephone on 0300 200 7899.

The Rule may also be viewed online at:

Back to top