Mallon announces appointment to the Board of Belfast Harbour Commissioners

Date published: 18 May 2021


Infrastructure Minister Nichola Mallon has announced the appointment of a further Non-Executive Member to the Board of Belfast Harbour Commissioners.

Minister Mallon said:

“I recently announced the appointment of eight members to the Board of Belfast Harbour Commissioners and I am pleased today to confirm that Stephen Martin has also been appointed to the Board. 

“This is a first term appointment for Stephen and I am confident that he will use his significant experience to aid the Chair and the Executive team and enhance the Board in the task ahead of operating, maintaining and improving the harbour, and maximising its potential as a driver for economic development and for the wider benefit of citizens particularly in Belfast”.

The appointment will take effect from 1 June 2021 and will be for a maximum of four years.

The appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland’s Code of Practice.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Belfast Harbour Commissioners is a Public Trust Port established by legislation. The Commissioners have responsibility, under a series of Harbour Acts and Orders, for developing, maintaining and operating Belfast Port to the highest standards of efficiency, financial prudence, environmental awareness, safety and security to the benefit of all stakeholders. The Constitution of the Commissioners was established under Schedule 1 of the Belfast Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002.
  2. The Belfast Harbour Commissioners currently have a membership of a Chair, an Executive Member, eight Non Executive Members, and four Councillor Members. The Non-Executive Members currently receive remuneration of £14,716 per annum.
  3. The Department for Infrastructure does not reappoint board members automatically to a second term. All appointments are made through open competition. 
  4. Stephen Martin OBE QPM was a police officer in Northern Ireland for nearly 34 years. He retired as Deputy Chief Constable in January 2020, having had responsibility for a number of areas which included: governance, performance, organisational change and professional standards. He is currently Chair of the Irish Football Association, a member of the Policing Authority, Ireland and also sits on the Prince’s Trust Northern Ireland advisory committee. Stephen is a Chartered Director and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development and he holds an MBA with Ulster University.
  5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published. Stephen Martin has declared that he has not undertaken any recent political activity.
  6. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press at The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.
  7. Follow the Department on Twitter @deptinfra.

Share this page

Back to top