Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners - Extension of four Non-Executive Members’ Board Appointments

Date published: 17 April 2019


The Department for Infrastructure has announced the extension of appointment terms for four Non-Executive Members of the Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners, namely, Dr Dolores O’Reilly, Mr Peter Sheridan, Mr Brian Dougherty and Mrs Hilary McCartan.

DfI latest news

This is with effect from 1 April 2019 to 30 September 2019. 

These extensions have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland’s Code of Practice.


Notes to editors: 

  1. Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners is a Public Trust Port established by legislation. The Commissioners have responsibility, under a series of Harbour Acts and Orders, for developing, maintaining and operating Foyle Port to the highest standards of efficiency, financial prudence, environmental awareness, safety and security to the benefit of all stakeholders. The Constitution of the Commissioners was established under the Londonderry Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002 (No 41).
  2. The Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners currently have a membership of a Chair, an Executive Member, four Non Executive Members and 3 Councillor Non-Executive Members. The Non-Executive Members of the LPHC Board currently receive remuneration of £8,552 per annum.
  3. Dr Dolores O’Reilly is Professor Emerita of International Business Strategy at Ulster University. She has served on Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners since February 2011 where she is Chair of the Risk Committee. Professor O’Reilly also sits on the Audit and Risk Committee of the Commission for Older People Northern Ireland and is an Independent Assessor for the Commission for Public Appointments Northern Ireland.  Dolores is also a Trustee of Foyle Hospice, Derry Theatre Trust and is a Director of Northern Ireland.
  4. Peter Sheridan OBE has served on Londonderry Harbour Commissioners since February 2011. He has 15 years’ experience operating at a senior level within the Police Service of Northern Ireland where he served as an Assistant Chief Constable with responsibility for murder and organised crime investigation.  He was appointed Deputy Lord Lieutenant of County Londonderry in 2014 and an honorary professor by Queens University in 2018.  He has been Chief Executive with the peace building charity Co-operation Ireland since 2008.
  5. Brian Dougherty MBE, is a current director of community consultancy Hummingbird NI and is currently studying for a Ph.D. at Ulster University.  He has broad experience in community and business development, project management and finance.  He is a Governor for Foyle College, Chair of the North-West Cricket Union and is a board member of Cricket Ireland and Institute F.C.  He does not hold any other public appointments.
  6. Mrs McCartan is a chartered accountant by profession and holds an MBA.  Mrs McCartan has held a number of senior management posts in the private sector including the role of Finance Director, and a number of non-executive roles in the public sector.  Mrs McCartan has two other public appointments.  She is a non-executive director of the Southern Health and Social Care Trust, and is a non-executive director of NITHC (Translink).
  7. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.  Dr Dolores O’Reilly, Mr Peter Sheridan, Mr Brian Dougherty and Mrs Hilary McCartan have declared that they have not undertaken any recent political activity.
  8. The Department for Infrastructure do not reappoint board members automatically to a second term.  All appointments are made through open competition.  These are extensions rather than a re-appointments. 

All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office on 028 9054 0007 or email:  Out of office hours please contact the duty press officer via pager number 028 9037 8110 and your call will be returned.

Share this page

Back to top