Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners Board - Extension of a Non-Executive Member

Date published: 09 January 2020


The Department for Infrastructure has announced the extension of the appointment term for Councillor Jim McKeever, a Non-Executive Member of Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners.

Department for Infrastructure logo

This is with effect from 8 February 2020 to 31 March 2020.

This extension has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland’s Code of Practice.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners (LPHC) is a Public Trust Port established by legislation. The Commissioners have responsibility, under a series of Harbour Acts and Orders, for developing, maintaining and operating Foyle Port to the highest standards of efficiency, financial prudence, environmental awareness, safety and security to the benefit of all stakeholders. The Constitution of the Commissioners was established under the Londonderry Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002 (No 41).
  2. The Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners currently have a membership of a Chair, an Executive Member, four Non-Executive Members and two Councillor Non-Executive Members. The Non-Executive Members of the LPHC Board currently receive remuneration of £8,931 per annum.
  3. Councillors are appointed to the Board in line with the Londonderry Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002, and can only serve as a Commissioner if they remain a member of Council.
  4. Councillor Jim McKeever is a full-time member of the Council and represents the Faughan Electoral Ward. He is a member of the Assurance, Audit and Risk Committee and Chairs the Council’s Governance and Strategic Planning Committee. He is also a member of the Northern Ireland Local Government Association (NILGA) Executive and a volunteer within the local community for the Cruise Centre Young Driver Road Safety Project.
  5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published. Councillor McKeever has declared that he has undertaken political activity on behalf of the Social Democratic and Labour Party.
  6. The Department for Infrastructure does not reappoint board members automatically to a second term. All appointments are made through open competition. This is a short-term extension rather than a reappointment.
  7. The decision to extend this appointment has been made by the DfI Permanent Secretary under the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation and Exercise of Functions) Act 2019. The Permanent Secretary provided her approval for the extension in 2019.
  8. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office on 028 9054 0007 or email: Out of office hours please contact the duty press officer - number 028 9037 8110.
  9. Follow the Department on Twitter @deptinfra


Share this page

Back to top