The Roads (Speed Limit) (No. 3) Order (Northern Ireland) 2019 No. 217

Date published: 11 December 2019

The Department for Infrastructure has made a Statutory Rule entitled “The Roads (Speed Limit) (No. 3) Order (Northern Ireland) 2019”, (S.R. 2019 No. 217), which comes into operation on 23 December 2019.


The Order will apply 30, 40 and 50 miles per hour speed limits on roads and lengths of roads in Belfast, Coleraine, Lurgan, and Strabane and revoke a number of speed limits so that a 30 miles per hour speed limit (restricted by street lighting) will apply to lengths of roads in Newry and Strabane. Existing speed limits will also be revoked.

Copies of the rule may be obtained from

Department for Infrastructure
Transport Legislation
Room 301, Clarence Court,
10-18 Adelaide Street,

or viewed online at:

Back to top