The Roads (Speed Limit) (No. 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2020 No. 259

Date published: 17 November 2020

Last updated: 24 November 2020


The Department for Infrastructure has made a Statutory Rule entitled “The Roads (Speed Limit) (No. 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2020”, (S.R. 2020 No. 259), which comes into operation on 8 December 2020.


The rule will apply 30 and 40 miles per hour speed limits to certain roads in Ballycastle, Ballymena, Belfast, Coalisland, Draperstown, Lisburn, Magherafelt, Newtownards and Omagh.

The Order will also apply the national speed limit to a length of road in Lisburn and revoke an existing speed limit on a length of road in Londonderry which no longer exists following a change in road layout.

During the current Covid-19 restrictions, a copy of the Rule may be viewed at DfI offices during office hours (Monday to Friday 9.00 am to 5.00 pm) by appointment only. Appointments can be arranged either by email using or by telephone on 0300 200 7899.

The Rule can also be viewed online at:

Back to top