Belfast Metropolitan Transport Plan

Date published: 26 November 2004

A local transport plan for the Belfast Metropolitan Area (BMA). The Plan takes forward the strategic initiatives of the Regional Transportation Strategy for Northern Ireland 2002-2012. It sets out transport proposals for the BMA which people can expect to see implemented by 2015. 


The Belfast Metropolitan Area comprises the following six district council areas:

  • Belfast
  • Carrickfergus
  • Castlereagh
  • Lisburn
  • Newtownabbey
  • North Down 
Back to top