Infrastructure Minister announces appointment of Chair to the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority (WHA)

Date published: 11 December 2020


Infrastructure Minister Nichola Mallon, has announced the appointment of Dr Gerard O’Hare as Chair for the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority.

Minister Mallon said:

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Dr Gerard O’Hare to this important post. Brexit will bring new opportunities and challenges for Warrenpoint Harbour Authority and I am confident that Gerard’s experience will be of significant benefit to the work of the board, in his role as Chair.”

The appointment will take effect from 1 February 2021 and will be for a maximum of four years.

Minister Mallon went on to say:

“I want to take this opportunity to put on record my thanks to the outgoing Chair, Stanley McIlvenny: his contribution has been invaluable to WHA during his tenure.”

Notes to editors: 

  1. The appointment has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.
  2. Warrenpoint is a Public Trust Port that is an autonomous self-financing body whose constitution is set out in legislation. First constituted by the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 1971 and then the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002). The order confers the powers on the Authority to preserve, improve and manage the Port of Warrenpoint.
  3. The WHA Board currently have a membership of a Chair, two Executive Members, three Non-Executive Members and three Councillor Non-Executive Members. The Chair of the WHA Board currently receives remuneration of £22,854 per annum.
  4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.  Dr O’Hare has declared that he has not undertaken any political activity.
  5. Biographical Details
  • Dr Gerard O’Hare CBE DL FRICS is currently Managing Director of The Parker Green Group. Dr O’Hare is a current Non Executive Member on the Belfast Harbour Commissioners, and his second term will finish early 2021. His annual remuneration is £14,716 for this post. He has recently stepped down as Deputy Chairman of Invest NI having completed 8 years as a Board Member since 2012.  Dr O’Hare was also Chairman of Belfast Tall Ships in 2009 and 2015 and is also a founding Trustee and Board member of the Air Ambulance of Northern Ireland (ANNI) Charity.  Dr O’Hare will bring relevant experience to the operation of the Harbour Authority, including leadership, the delivery of strategy, governance and working collaboratively. 
  1. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office on 028 9054 0007 or e-mail: Out of hours please contact the duty press officer on 028 90372110.
  2. Follow the Department on Twitter @deptinfra and on Facebook @DepartmentforInfrastructure.

Share this page

Back to top