Hazzard announces appointments to Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority

Date published: 20 October 2016


Infrastructure Minister Chris Hazzard has announced the appointment of two Members to the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority (WHA).

Warrenpoint harbour

The Minister has appointed Deep Sagar and Richard Johnston to both serve for a first term. 

Warrenpoint Harbour Authority is responsible for operating, maintaining and improving Warrenpoint Port.

Minister Chris Hazzard said:

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Deep Sagar and Richard Johnston to the WHA Board. I am confident that these new members will make a valuable contribution to the work of the Board, bringing fresh skills and experience to aid the Port’s continued growth as a location for the import and export of goods and as a major economic driver for the area.

“I am confident that the two new Board members will play an active role in continuing the high standard of work already set by existing members.

The Minister continued: 

“I would also like to thank the outgoing Non Executive Members Geraldine Donaghy and Bob McCann for the valuable contribution they have made to WHA during their tenure.”

The appointments will take effect from 1 November 2016 and will be for a maximum of four years. The appointment has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Warrenpoint Harbour Authority is a corporate body, having perpetual succession and was first constituted by the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 1971.  Its constitution is now enshrined in the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 2002.  Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Orders of 1971 and 2002 conferred powers on the Authority to preserve, improve and manage the Port of Warrenpoint.  The Authority also has the power to construct and maintain specific works, to levy dues, to deal with abandoned vessels and to make bylaws.
  2. The Harbour Authority Board has a membership of a Chair, a Chief Executive and Finance Officer, and seven Non-Executive Directors, including the three councillors from Newry, Mourne and Down District Council.  The Non-Executive Directors currently receive remuneration of £7,117 per annum.
  3. The appointment will be for a maximum of four years.
  4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.Deep Sagar and Philip Johnston have both declared that they have not undertaken any political activity.
  5. Mr Deep Sagar has a wide range of commercial, private and public sector experience. He has worked extensively in manufacturing including leading logistics/distribution in multinationals like Coca-Cola. He is currently Chair of the governing body of the South Eastern Regional College for which he receives remuneration of £20,000 per annum based on an attendance of four days a month.
  6. Mr Richard Johnston has more than fifteen years of economic policy experience. He is a former lead economist with Invest NI where he provided strategic advice on investment projects. He is the Associate Director of the Economic Policy Centre in the Ulster University since 2013. He leads the UUEPC research programme and also teaches Economic Policy. He holds no other Public Appointment positions.
  7. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office on 028 9054 0007 or e-mail: press.office@infrastructure-ni.gov.uk.
  8. Out of hours please contact the duty press officer via pager number 07623 974 383 and your call will be returned.      
  9. Follow the Department on Twitter @deptinfra


Share this page

Back to top