Extension of Chair Appointment for the Board of Belfast Harbour Commissioners 2020

Date published: 03 September 2020


The Department for Infrastructure Minister Nichola Mallon has announced that the appointment term of Dr David Dobbin, Chair of Belfast Harbour Commissioners has been extended.

The extension is with effect from 1 November 2020 to 30 June 2021. 

Minister Mallon said:

“I want to take this opportunity to thank Dr Dobbin for his commitment to this post. David has provided strong leadership to the Board during his tenure to date. I am grateful for his continued dedication to Belfast Harbour and for his agreement to continue as chair for a further short period during what is a critical time for the Harbour and for our economy as we recover from Covid and face into Brexit.”

This extension has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland’s Code of Practice.

Notes to editors: 

  1. Belfast Harbour Commissioners is a Public Trust Port established by legislation.  The Commissioners have responsibility, under a series of Harbour Acts and Orders, for developing, maintaining and operating Belfast Port to the highest standards of efficiency, financial prudence, environmental awareness, safety and security to the benefit of all stakeholders. The Constitution of the Commissioners was established under Schedule 1 of the Belfast Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002.
  2. Dr Dobbin CBE has extensive board level experience at regional, national and international level and a successful track record of transformational leadership. He is the Chairman of Firmus Energy and a member of the KPMG NI Advisory Board and was the former Group Chief Executive of Dale Farm, the UK's largest dairy cooperative.  Dr Dobbin has extensive commercial experience and knowledge of port activities at Commissioner, user and operator level. He has been actively involved in regional economic development and regeneration and has previously served as Chairman in a number of public, private, voluntary and sports sector organisations including the Strategic Investment Board, IntertradeIreland, Ulster Rugby, the Prince's Trust and CBI Northern Ireland. He has also served as a member of the Invest NI and LEDU boards.
  3. The Belfast Harbour Commissioners currently have a membership of a Chair, an Executive Member and nine Non Executive Members and three Councillors. The Chair currently receives remuneration of £54,659 per annum.
  4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.  Dr Dobbin has declared that he has not undertaken any recent political activity.
  5. The Department for Infrastructure does not reappoint board members automatically to a second term. All appointments are made through open competition. This is an extension rather than a re-appointment. 
  6. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office at press.office@infrastructure-ni.gov.uk.
  7. An open public appointment competition for the BHC Chair post will be launched later in 2020/21.
  8. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media enquiries between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.
  9. Follow the Department on Twitter @deptinfra

Share this page

Back to top