The Department for Infrastructure (DfI) announces two appointments to the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority (WHA)

Date published: 21 November 2019


The Permanent Secretary has appointed David Gray to serve for a first term and Geraldine Donaghy to serve a second term on the WHA Board.

Department for Infrastructure logo

The Board members have responsibility, under a series of Harbour Orders, for preserving, improving and managing the Port of Warrenpoint. The appointments will take effect from 1 December 2019 and will be for a maximum of four years.

DfI thanks the outgoing Non Executive Members Alan Stephens and Trevor Haslett for their valuable contribution to WHA during their tenure.

Notes to editors: 

  1. The appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.
  2. Warrenpoint is a Public Trust Port that is an autonomous self-financing body whose constitution is set out in legislation. First constituted by the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 1971 and then the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002). The order confers the powers on the Authority to preserve, improve and manage the Port of Warrenpoint.
  3. The WHA Board currently have a membership of a Chair, two Executive Members, four Non Executive Members and two Councillor Non-Executive Members. The Non-Executive Members of the WHA Board currently receive remuneration of £7,497 per annum.
  4. The appointments have been made by the DfI Permanent Secretary under the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation and Exercise Functions) Act 2019. However should a Departmental Minister return, he/she may review the appointments and subsequently the terms and conditions of the appointment may be subject to change.
  5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.  Ms Donaghy and Mr Gray, have declared that they have not undertaken any political activity.
  6. Ms Donaghy served a previous four year term on the WHA Board from 2012 to 2016.
  7. Biographical Details
  • Ms Donaghy was formerly Chief Executive of the Confederation of Community Groups, Newry & Mourne and has previously held a number of Public appointments. Until recently she served as a Commissioner with the Charity Commission for N.I. and is currently a Non-Executive Director with the Southern Health and Social Care Trust for which she receives remuneration of £8285per annum. Ms Donaghy has wide experience in community development. Ms Donaghy will bring the following skills and knowledge to the WHA role, human resources management, business and strategy development and governance and performance management. 
  • David Gray is a Chartered Accountant recently retired from RSM UK LLP where he was Head of External Audit and Corporate Governance Services in the Belfast office. He has previously held a number of Northern Ireland Public Appointments, this included appointments within the Departments of Justice and Health. He was also a former Non-Executive Member of the Department for Infrastructure’s Departmental Board. Mr Gray will bring the following skills and knowledge to the WHA role, financial and risk management, dispute resolution, corporate governance and strategy.
  1. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office on 028 9054 0007 or e-mail: Out of hours please contact the duty press officer on 028 90372110.
  2. Follow the Department on Twitter @deptinfra and on Facebook @DepartmentforInfrastructure.

Share this page

Back to top