Review of The Planning (Development Management) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015 – Hierarchy of Developments (Classes of Development and corresponding Thresholds / Criterion) - Screening form

Date published: 14 December 2023


Section 25 of the Planning Act (Northern Ireland) (the 2011 Act) introduced a hierarchy of development within the planning system, establishing development as one of two categories, major or local.  The Planning (Development Management) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015 (the Development Management Regulations) sets out nine classes of development and relevant thresholds or criterion for each of these categories in a Schedule.  The procedures for submitting and handling planning applications for the different categories of development vary, as does the extent of supporting information required.


  • Existing/Revised/New:  Revised
  • Date of Screening:  30 October 2023
  • Screening Outcome – Full EQIA Recommended: No
Back to top