New Chair to the Board of Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners (LPHC) appointed by the Department for Infrastructure

Date published: 22 December 2023


The Department for Infrastructure has appointed Ryan McCready to serve as the new Chair on the LPHC Board.

DfI latest news

The appointment will take effect from 1 January 2024 and will be for a maximum of four years.

The Commissioners have responsibility, under a series of Harbour Acts and Orders, for developing, maintaining, and operating Foyle Port to the highest standards of efficiency, financial prudence, environmental awareness, safety, and security to the benefit of all stakeholders.

The Department’s Permanent Secretary, Denis McMahon said:

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of Ryan McCready as the new Chair to the LPHC. I am confident he will continue the high standard of work set by the outgoing Chair Bonnie Anley.

“I would like to thank Bonnie for the valuable contribution she has made to Foyle Port during her nearly ten-year tenure as Chair and I wish her well for the future.”

Notes to editors: 

  1. Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners is a Public Trust Port established by legislation. The Constitution of the Commissioners was established under the Londonderry Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002 (No 41).
  2. The Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners currently have a membership of a Chair, two Executive Members, four Non-Executive Members and two Councillor Non-Executive Members. The Chair of the LPHC Board currently receives remuneration of £27,982 per annum.
  3. The Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published. Ryan McCready has declared that he has undertaken political activity on behalf of the Ulster Unionist Party, including being a sitting councillor elected to Derry City and Strabane District Council.  All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  It should be noted that the role of Derry City and Strabane District Councillor and Chair of the Harbour Commissioners are distinctly separate roles.  As such, Ryan McCready has been appointed in a personal capacity.
  4. The decision on this appointment was taken by the Department for Infrastructure’s Permanent Secretary under The Northern Ireland (Executive Formation Etc) Act 2022.
  5. The appointment has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.
  6. Ryan McCready is an elected councillor to Derry City and Strabane District Council, representing Faughan Ward.  He is a member of the Council’s Audit, Risk & Assurance Committee and is Deputy Chair for the Business & Culture Committee, and a board member on City of Derry Airport Ltd.  Ryan has served as a Non-Executive Councillor Member on the LPHC Board since 1 April 2020, which he will step down from on taking up the Chair appointment.
  7. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office at:
  8. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.
  9. Follow the Department on X/Twitter @deptinfra on Facebook @DepartmentforInfrastructure and on LinkedIn at DfILinkedIn.


Share this page

Back to top