Infrastructure Minister appoints Newry, Mourne and Down Councillors to the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority

Date published: 24 May 2024

Infrastructure Minister, John O’Dowd has appointed Laura Devlin and Jarlath Tinnelly to serve as Non-Executive Councillor Members on the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority (WHA).

DfI Minister John O'Dowd - February 2024

The appointment for Laura Devlin will take effect from 1 June 2024 while Jarlath Tinnelly’s appointment will be effective from 22 August 2024. Both appointments will be for a maximum of four years.

The Authority has responsibility, under a series of Harbour Acts and Orders, for developing, maintaining and operating Warrenpoint Port to the highest standards of efficiency, financial prudence, environmental awareness, safety, and security to the benefit of all stakeholders.

Minister O’Dowd said:

“I am pleased to announce the appointments of Laura Devlin and Jarlath Tinnelly to these important roles.”


Notes to editors: 

  1. Warrenpoint Harbour Authority is a corporate body, having perpetual succession and was first constituted by the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 1971. Its constitution is now enshrined in the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 2002. Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Orders of 1971 and 2002 conferred powers on the Authority to preserve, improve and manage the Port of Warrenpoint. The Authority also has the power to construct and maintain specific works, to levy dues, to deal with abandoned vessels and to make bylaws.
  2. Warrenpoint Harbour Authority currently have a membership of a Chair, two Executive Members, three Non-Executive Members and two Councillor Non-Executive Members. The Members of the WHA Board currently receive remuneration of £8,275.92 per annum.
  3. Councillors are appointed to the Board in line with the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 2002 and can only serve as a Board Member if they remain a member of the Newry, Mourne and Down District Council. The appointment is up to a maximum of four years.
  4. The Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published. Laura Devlin has declared that she has undertaken political activity on behalf of the Social Democratic and Labour Party. Jarlath Tinnelly has declared that he had stood as an Independent Councillor. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.
  5. The appointment has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.


  • Councillor Laura Devlin

Laura has been a Councillor since 2013. She has been a member of the SDLP since 1999 and has worked for the party on a full-time basis for over 20 years.

Laura is the party’s Spokesperson on Tourism and Hospitality and the current Group Leader on Council. She served as Mayor of Newry, Mourne and Down District Council in the first year of the Covid19 Pandemic.

Laura also works for Colin McGrath MLA in South Down as his Constituency Manager and is a Non-Executive Member on the Board of the Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service, which attracts an annual renumeration of £6,643.


  • Councillor Jarlath Tinnelly

Jarlath Tinnelly serves as an Independent councillor on Newry Mourne & Down District Council.

He was first elected in May 2014 and represents the Crotlieve District Electoral Area which includes Warrenpoint.

An employee of Translink, Jarlath is currently the vice chairperson of the council’s planning committee and is also a member of the Economic Regeneration & Tourism committee.

  1. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office at:
  2. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.
  3. Follow the Department on X/Twitter @deptinfra, on Facebook @DepartmentforInfrastructure and on LinkedIn at DfILinkedIn .


Share this page

Back to top