The Department for Infrastructure announces the appointment of Chair to Board of Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners (LPHC)

Date published: 10 December 2019


The Permanent Secretary has appointed Bonnie Anley to serve a second term on the LPHC Board.

Department for Infrastructure logo

The appointment will take effect from 1 January 2020 and will be for a maximum of four years.

The Commissioners have responsibility, under a series of Harbour Acts and Orders, for developing, maintaining and operating Foyle Port to the highest standards of efficiency, financial prudence, environmental awareness, safety and security to the benefit of all stakeholders.

Notes to editors: 

  1. The appointment has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.
  2. Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners is a Public Trust Port established by legislation. The Constitution of the Commissioners was established under the Londonderry Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002 (No 41).
  3. The Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners currently have a membership of a Chair, an Executive Member, four Non Executive Members and two Councillor Non-Executive Members. The Chair of the LPHC Board currently receives remuneration of £26,799 per annum.
  4. The appointment has been made by the DfI Permanent Secretary under the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation and Exercise Functions) Act 2019. However should a Departmental Minister return, he/she may review the appointment and subsequently the terms and conditions of the appointment may be subject to change.
  5. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.  Ms Anley has declared that she has not undertaken any political activity. 
  6. Biographical Details

Bonnie Anley holds an MA from Trinity College Dublin and an MSc from Queens University Belfast. Her experience spans the public, private and third sectors.  She spent 18 years working commercially in the transport sector as a Company Director and is a former Non-Executive Board Member for Warrenpoint Harbour Authority.  Ms Anley was first appointed Chair of LPHC on 8 February 2014. She is also the Chair of Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service for which she receives remuneration of £7,370 per annum. Ms Anley is a committee member with the Institute of Directors Northern Ireland Committee. She is also a Chartered Director and a Fellow of the Institute of Directors. Ms Anley will bring the following skills and experience to the LPHC Chair post, governance and performance management, financial management, leadership and strategy.


  1. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office on 028 9054 0007 or e-mail: Out of hours please contact the duty press officer on 028 9037 8110.
  2. Follow the Department on Twitter @deptinfra and on Facebook @DepartmentforInfrastructure.

Share this page

Back to top