Extension of a Non-Executive Member appointment to the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority

Date published: 05 March 2021


Infrastructure Minister, Nichola Mallon, has announced that the appointment term of Richard Johnston, a Non-Executive Member of the Board of Warrenpoint Harbour Authority has been extended.

Minister Mallon said:

“I want to take this opportunity to thank Richard for his ongoing commitment to Warrenpoint Harbour”.

The extension is effective from 1 April 2021 to 31 July 2021.

This extension has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland’s Code of Practice.


Notes to editors: 

  1. Warrenpoint Harbour Authority is a corporate body, having perpetual succession and was first constituted by the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 1971.  Its constitution is now enshrined in the Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Order (Northern Ireland) 2002.  Warrenpoint Harbour Authority Orders of 1971 and 2002 conferred powers on the Authority to preserve, improve and manage the Port of Warrenpoint.  The Authority also has the power to construct and maintain specific works, to levy dues, to deal with abandoned vessels and to make bylaws.
  2. The Harbour Authority Board has a current membership of a Chair, two Executive Members, and six Non-Executive Members, this includes three councillors from Newry, Mourne and Down District Council.  The Non-Executive Members currently receive remuneration of £7,807 per annum. 
  3. The Department for Infrastructure does not reappoint board members automatically to a second term. All appointments are made through open competition.  This is an extension rather than a re-appointment.
  4. A competition to recruit two WHA Non-Executive Members is underway.
  5. Mr Richard Johnston is an Economist who has held a range of roles in the public, private academic and third sectors.  He is a Trustee of the Inspire Business Centre, was a member of the Ministerial Advisory Panel on Infrastructure and has recently been appointed to the Economic Advisory Group by Minister Dodds.  This position is not remunerated.   He provides support to a range of public and private sector organisations throughout NI with the aim of stimulating economic growth, competitiveness and inclusion throughout NI.
  6. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.   Mr Johnston has declared that he has not undertaken any recent political activity.
  7. All media queries should be directed to the Department for Infrastructure Press Office at press.office@infrastructure-ni.gov.uk.
  8. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media queries only between 1800 hours and 8.00 hours Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays.  The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 90372110.
  9. Follow the Department on Twitter @deptinfra and on Facebook @DepartmentforInfrastructure.

Share this page

Back to top